Results from collecting by citizen scientists in the Lake Eyre Basin

  • 38 submissions where received
  • Samples were received from five species
  • Feather samples included feathers from Brolgas - famous for their elaborate courtship dance and the subject of traditional Aboriginal legends and dances – that are considered a vulnerable population in South Australia, where numbers are dwindling.
  • The Lake Eyre Basin was a relatively dry basin with limited permanent water. Because of this, most of the wetlands are temporary and therefore most of the feathers discovered in this basin had been grown elsewhere in Australia.

Examples of feathers found in the Lake Eyre Basin and analysis results

Wetland feather foundStateSpeciesDietBasin where bird came from
Burke RiverQLDBrolgaOmnivoreLake Eyre Basin
Burke RiverQLDBrolgaOmnivoreMurray Darling Basin
Combo WaterholeQldBrolgaOmnivoreMurray Darling Basin
Eringa WaterholeSARed kneed dotterelInvertebratesSouth East Coast NSW
Gum WaterholeQLDBrolgaOmnivoreMurray Darling Basin
Kennedy Dev. RoadQLDBrolgaOmnivoreMurray Darling Basin
Long WaterholeQLDBrolgaOmnivoreMurray Darling Basin
Thomson Dev. RoadQLDPlumed whistling duckHerbivoreMurray Darling Basin
Thomson RiverQLDPlumed whistling duckHerbivoreSouth East Coast NSW

Did you know?

The basin sits across four states/territories and doesn't reach the sea. It covers the following areas:

  • South Australia - south from the Lake Eyre region
  • Northern Territory - east to Alice Springs
  • Queensland - north to Mt Isa, east to Longreach
  • New South Wales - east to Broken Hill